top of page

Leinster Schools Team Racing Championships

Two Gonzaga teams were among the eight entries in the 2019 Leinster School Team Racing championship held in the Royal St George Yacht club on Saturday 23 March. In the qualifying rounds, each team raced all the other schools in a round robin series. Racing in light winds that were extremely testing for all competitors, Gonzaga B team performed well and narrowly missed qualification for the final rounds. Gonzaga A team saw off all but one of their opponents leaving them top of the table.

However, the quarter final proved a greater challenge with Gonzaga facing a talented and very determined Loreto Stephen's Green who pushed them to three races before being defeated. In the other semifinal a young but well organised St Andrew’s team comfortably saw off Blackrock College to set up a tense final. However Gonzaga A were getting into their stride at this point and came through as 2019 Leinster schools champions.

All four teams who qualified for the semifinals will travel to the National Championships later in the year.

The winning Gonzaga team were:

Jack Fahy & Andrew Conan Henry Higgins & Finn Cleary Tom Higgins & Jacques Murphy


    bottom of page